Skip to content

MEET THE TEAM

Faculty Members

Current Project Supervisors

Engineering

Prof Dawie van den Heever

dawie(at)sun.ac.za
Linkedin

Department: External

Research Areas: Neural Engineering; Biomedical Signal Processing; Medical Devices

Prof Martin Nieuwoudt

martin.nieuwoudt@gmail.com
+27 (0) 21 808 9040
Linkedin

Research Areas: Biomedical Signal Processing; Nanotechnology

 

Dr Johan van der Merwe

jovdmerwe@sun.ac.za
+27 (0) 21 808 4038

LinkedIn

Department: Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

Research Areas: Implant design; Additive manufacturing; Computer assisted surgery

 

Mr Cornel de Jongh

corneld@sun.ac.za
+27 (0) 21 808 4249
Linkedin

Department: Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

Research Areas: Injury Biomechanics

 

Prof Willem (Willie) Perold

wjperold@sun.ac.za
+27 (0) 21 808 4368
Linkedin

Department: Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Areas: Biosensors; Nanotechnology; Microfluidics

Prof Sara (Saartjie) Grobbelaar

ssgrobbelaar@sun.ac.za
+27 (0) 21 808 4247
Linkedin

Department: Industrial Engineering

Research Areas: 

Prof Anna-Mart Engelbrecth

ame@sun.ac.za
+27 (0) 21 808 4573
Linkedin

Department: Physiological Sciences

Research Areas:

Prof Annie Chimphango

achimpha@sun.ac.za

Department: Process Engineering

Research Areas:

Prof Wayne Derman

ewderman@sun.ac.za

Research Areas:

Prof Anton Du Plessis

anton2@sun.ac.za

Research Areas:

Dr Rudolph Venter

rgventer@sun.ac.za

Research Areas:

Prof Rob Warren

rw1@sun.ac.za

Department: Molecular Biology and Human Genetics

Research Areas:

Prof Kristiaan Schreve

kschreve@sun.ac.za

Department: Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

Research Areas:

Prof Carine Smith

csmith@sun.ac.za

Department: Medicine

Research Areas:

Additional Management Committee Members

Prof Anton Basson

ahb@sun.ac.za

Department: Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

Research Areas:

Prof Elmien Steyn

esteyn@sun.ac.za

Department: Surgery

Research Areas:

Prof Ben Loos

bloos@sun.ac.za
+27 (0) 21 808 9196
Linkedin

Department: Physiological Sciences

Research Areas: 

Dr Rensu Theart

rptheart@sun.ac.za
+27 (0) 21 808 4452
Linkedin

Department: Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Areas: 3D microscopy data visualisation and analysis; Virtual reality applications; Machine learning